Application Roles

There are currently five levels of user access. These roles can be assigned and edited by an Administrator.

  • Administrator: Users with the Administrator role have full control of Loome Monitor. They are able to manage Agents, Connections, Projects, Rules and Users.
  • Author: Users with this role can manage agents, connections and all projects of Loome Monitor. They can also run rules and view their results.
  • Consumer: Users with the Consumer role can view projects in Loome Monitor. This role has read-only privileges, so they cannot modify projects. Consumers can view or edit the results of alerts that they have been assigned to or notified about by a communication step, such as an email configured by Administrators or Authors. If an email notification was sent to an email address that does not have a role in Loome Monitor, then that user will be assigned to the Consumer role. This user can then sign in and view the unresolved results they were assigned to as a Consumer.
Permission Administrator Author Consumer
Configure remote API access**
Access Loome Monitor remotely via API**
Add new users and edit user application roles
Manage and create projects
Add and edit a connection
Add an agent
Create a rule (Alert, Glossary, Reference)
Edit a rule (Alert, Glossary, Reference)
Run a rule
View and edit results ✔*

*Consumers can only view and edit results that they have been assigned to or have been emailed about.

**Currently, API Keys created in Monitor will have the same permissions as an administrator. In future, API Keys will have specific roles attached to them.

How to Add a User to an Application Role

Find the application role page from the top right settings menu, as shown in the image below.

Application roles in the menu

Beside the role that you would like to add a user to, click on Add in the top right corner of that role and a slide-out will be expanded.

Add a user

In this slide-out, type in the email address of the user and then click Add.

Type in email address

Click on Invite and this user will now be able to log in as this role.

Invite a user

Application Role Status

If a user has only been sent an invitation, their status will remain as ‘Invited’ until they log in, in which their status will change to ‘Verified’.

Invited user

Delete a User from a Role

To delete a user from an application role, find the user on the application roles page and click on the Delete button at the end of a row beside the user’s name.

Delete a user

You cannot delete your own user account from a role. If you require your own account to be deleted from a role, a different administrator will need to delete the user account.